New version available (1.8.007): Events duplication and other improvements
Sometimes you need to create an event which is very similar to an existing one. Instead of creating this event from scratch, you can duplicate the existing one, using its contextual menu. All properties will be identical: schedule, colors, availability, etc. but also reminders, periodicity, participants, access rights and attachments. You can make the necessary changes before saving the new event.
This feature is useful to handle a complicated series of events. For instance, you have a staff meeting every week. This is the general rule. On week 1, the meeting takes place on Wednesday at 4 PM. On week 2, it takes place on Monday at 3 PM. On week 3, there is no meeting because everyone is on holidays. On week 4, the meeting takes place on Wednesday at 2 PM but without John, etc. Of course, you can manage all this from a recurring event (using the “Periodicity” tab) with exceptions on the instances, but eventually the instances will have nothing in common except for their title. You have to be careful to edit only the instance and not the whole series, otherwise all the other instances will be lost. Using event duplication, you just have to duplicate from the previous meeting and make the necessary changes.
You can also use the event duplication to create a different meeting from the same participants list.
Another usage is to add an interesting event that you see in a group or member calendar to yours. Example: you see this trade fair in John’s calendar and you duplicate it to yours, in order to be reminded of it.
“Check contact” feature is back
This feature will send an e-mail to the contact, asking him to review/edit his data (except for the comments and categories/tags). He will be able to add data (his direct phone number, for instance), edit data (old home phone number replaced by the new one), delete data (no more pager number) or just confirm that his data are still up to date. You will get an e-mail informing you of his action. Please note that this feature is only available for contacts with an e-mail address.
“Share with groups”: destination folder selection
A quick reminder: the “Share with groups” feature is an advanced sharing feature which allows sharing data in your private environment (ex: a Document) with one or more groups: the Document remains in your private environment but can also be accessed from the group (access rights of course apply). As this remains a single Document (the feature does not create a copy), changes made in an environment (private or group) will be seen everywhere.
As this feature creates content in a group, you must be granted the corresponding access rights. Until recently, you could only share Documents with the group Documents root folder. As few group members are granted the right to add content in the root folder, you can now select the destination folder amongst the group folders (of course you still need the access rights to add content there).
- Messaging: if you delete a message when it is opened in a pop-up or displayed in the preview pane, the next message will be automatically displayed
- Messaging: the interface for managing group contacts lists access rights was missing
- Messaging: Preference for default display mode (text only, filtered HTML, filtered HTML, original HTML)
- Calendar: Preference for displaying event details (automatically, which is the default value, or only when clicking on the event)
- Comments (entered in the Properties) are more visible in the Documents and Contacts list view
- Groups: Group co-administrators can add and remove members (the group administrator cannot be removed)